Drumsound & Bassline Smith

"The SUBPAC is truly awesome & we're using it daily!"

In 2004, their “Odyssey” banger was judged Mixmag’s tenth best all-round dance anthem of the year, and hit No. 1 on the UK Dance Chart. They have released tracks on a string of some of the most respected imprints in drum and bass, including on LTJ Bukem’s Good Looking Records, Bryan G’s V Records and Grooverider’s Prototype Records. Read More...

Also, in 2004, Drumsound & Bassline Smith released their first studio album, Nature of the Beast, featuring “Crossfire (Danger)”, “Planet Mars”, “The End” and “Tinman”, on Technique Recordings.

They enjoy regular plays on BBC Radio 1 and BBC Radio 1Xtra from Fabio and Grooverider, MistaJam, Annie Nightingale and Annie Mac. The trio are one of the few complete multiple mixes for BBC Radio One.
The 10 Years of Technique album included the “Can You Feel It”, “Clap Your Hands” and “Law of the Jungle”, and reached No. 1 on the BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra charts at the end of November 2009. 2009 remixes included VV Browns “Leave”‘ at the request of Universal’s Island Records and Fugative’s – Supafly for Ministry of sound.

Annie Mac requested the crew complete a remix of Chipmunk’s “Oopsy Daisy” for her Mash Hitz segment. They also did a remix of the EastEnders theme for the E20 Music Competition set up by the BBC. In 2010, Drumsound & Bassline Smith remixed work by Blame feat Ruff Squad, and mixed “Until You Were Gone” by Chipmunk featuring Esmée Denters. The group have also completed a remix of Afrojack featuring Eva Simons’ “Take Over Control” on Data Records, and produced tracks on the Dansette Junior album on Columbia Records.

In April 2011, Drumsound & Bassline Smith released a 12″ of “Freak” on the Newstate label. “Freak” gained positive reviews and made BBC Radio 1’s daytime playlist. Soon afterwards they remixed DJ Fresh’s “Louder” which was released on 3 July 2011. The song features vocals from Welsh singer Sian Evans from the band Kosheen and hit the Number 1 spot in the UK Singles Chart. Other remixes include Moby’s “After” & Youngman MC’s “Who Knows”.

The trio then released “Close” on 21 August 2011. The single was supported by MistaJam and Annie Mac on BBC Radio 1 promoted to BBC Radio 1 B-list and it peaked on the UK Singles Chart at number 49.

In 2012, Drumsound & Bassline Smith collaborated with Utah Saints on their classic track “What Can You Do for Me” which made the BBC Radio 1 daytime playlist & hit the Number 28 spot in the UK Singles Chart on 4 March.

Also in March 2012, Drumsound & Bassline Smith won the ‘Best Track’ & ‘Best Video’ award with “Close” at the Official Drum & Bass Awards Drumsound & Bassline Smith released their second studio album Wall of Sound on 14 July 2013. The album contains many of their unreleased work and features the singles “Through the Night”, “Daylight”, “One in a Million”, “What Can You Do for Me”, “Close” and a VIP mix of “Freak”. In 2016, they remixed the track Pump by Tantrum Desire and released the song I’m Gone.